Reckless Driving in Northern Virginia
Reckless driving is a criminal offense in Fairfax County, Virginia. It refers to where a person willfully operates a vehicle without regard to the safety of people and property. If convicted, you can face thousands of dollars in fines, jail time, or a criminal record that can impact your life. Hiring a reckless driving lawyer to protect your right makes a massive difference in your case.
A criminal traffic conviction can increase your insurance premium, creating financial hardship. So when you are issued a ticket for reckless driving, don’t take it as a simple citation. Instead, you should protect your rights and future by getting a lawyer if charged. This article explains reckless driving and what to do if arrested and charged.
What Is Reckless Driving?
Under Virginia law, a person who drives a vehicle recklessly or in a manner that endangers the life and property of others is guilty of reckless driving. Several actions can be considered reckless driving in Fairfax County, VA. They include but are not limited to:
- Driving a vehicle with faulty brakes
- Failing to yield right of way
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Driving with the driver’s view obstructed
- Driving over the applicable maximum speed limit of 20 miles per hour
- Driving two abreast in a single lane
- Driving more than 85 miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit
- Injuring or causing the death of another while engaging in a race, etc.
What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving?
Reckless driving is not a simple citation or moving violation in Virginia. It is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor with severe penalties that can impact your life. In evaluating the appropriate sentence for your conviction, a judge will consider factors such as:
- Prior reckless driving convictions
- Virginia Department of motor vehicle (DMV) point rating
- Whether your actions caused injury
- Your demeanor with the court.
The punishment for the conviction of reckless driving in Virginia includes six points on your driving record, driver’s license suspension for up to six months, and confinement in jail for one year. You may also pay a fine of up to $2,500 and lose driving privileges for up to six months.
How Can a Reckless Driving Lawyer Help Me?
Many defendants charged with reckless driving go to court without legal representation. Unfortunately, representing yourself in court may not be in your favor. Virginia’s reckless driving laws are complex to navigate. Therefore, you need a lawyer experienced with reckless driving defense to handle your case.
They can help review your case to determine whether there are mitigating factors and negotiate with government prosecutors. A lawyer will also fight to reduce or dismiss your conviction, arrange a plea agreement for a lesser charge, and appear in court on your behalf.
Discuss Your Legal Options With a Reckless Driving Lawyer Today!
Reckless driving is a severe offense in Virginia. The penalties can affect your driving privileges and damage your record. If you have been issued a ticket, there is no time to waste. At Ervin Kibria PLLC, we will fight to reduce or dismiss your charges. So reach out to our reckless driving lawyer today for a free consultation.