The District of Columbia treats its traffic laws seriously. To help enforce its laws, DC uses a point system to assess the danger your actions on the road pose to yourself and others. For example, if you are found to have failed to comply with seatbelt law in DC, the DC Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add 3 points to your driver’s record.
Points for moving violations in DC will stay on your driver’s record for 2 years. If you accumulate too many points, your license will be suspended or revoked.
Currently, if you receive 10-11 points on your driver’s record, your license will be suspended for 90 days. If you receive 12 points or more on your driver’s record, your license will be revoked until the DMV reinstates your license, which can only happen after at least 6 months have passed since revocation.
If you are a Washington, DC driver’s license holder, you can receive points for not only in-state moving violations but also out-of-state moving violations. An out-of-state moving violation will be assessed according to the DC point system, so a 2-point violation in Virginia can turn into a 6-point violation in DC. Similarly, a non-DC resident can receive points on their driver’s record and even have their license suspended or revoked for a moving violation in DC. It is vital to be aware of the law and drive safely.
Table of Violations
Below you will find a list of violations and their point value.
In addition to the violations listed in the table above, there are violations that involve mandatory revocation of your driver’s license. These are also known as major moving violations. Being found guilty of these violations instantly adds 12 points onto your driver’s record.
Do note that failure to pay child support can also lead to a revocation of your driver’s license.
An important factor to note about the DC point system is that points are not added right at the moment when you receive a ticket for a moving violation. When does the DMV add points to your driver’s record, then?
Number 3 is the most important one to know. Paying your ticket constitutes an admission of liability to the DMV and they will then simply add the appropriate point value for the violation in question to your driver’s record.
However, DC also offers a program where you can attend a certified driver’s education classes in order to have the points for a particular violation removed. The violation will still show up on your record, but the points will not. This option is only available if you contest your ticket and specifically ask the hearing officer for approval. It is recommended you contact an attorney if you are concerned about a ticket and its potential point impact on your driver’s record.
If you do receive approval to attend the driver’s education program in lieu of receiving points, you still have to pay the fine for the violation within 15 days of the approval. You also need to complete the specific education program within 30 days.
If you receive a notice of suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, you have 10 days from the date of the notice (15 days if you are a non-resident of DC) to schedule a hearing to determine if action should be taken against your license. This is called a permit hearing.
If you do not ask for a permit hearing within the allotted time frame, the suspension or revocation will go into effect.
You can bring an attorney to the permit hearing, and it is recommended you do so. Having an experienced advocate there can make the process smoother and make it likelier that you will be able to successfully retain your driver’s license.
If you do end up having your license suspended, you will be able to get the license back after the suspension period is up. You will have to pay a fee and do some paperwork, but getting your license base after a suspension is fairly straightforward.
If your license is revoked, however, getting it reinstated is more complex. Not only can you not ask for your license back for at least 6 months after the date of revocation, but you also need to go through a reinstatement hearing. Again, it is recommended that you contact an attorney about the reinstatement hearing to help you prepare for it and to help advocate for you during the actual event.
If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you can be imprisoned for up to 1 year and/or have to pay a fine of up to $5,000.
Keeping your driver’s license from being suspended or revoked can start as early as the day you receive your first traffic ticket. Not only can an experienced DC Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer help you get approved for the driver’s education program and thus eliminate the point gain, but they can also help you contest the ticket itself and potentially get you off the hook completely.
If you are facing imminent suspension or revocation of your license, or are looking to get your license reinstated, a DC Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer will be able to help you navigate the hearings you will have to undergo with minimal stress and fight for your right to retain your driver’s license.
If you are concerned about a ticket; an imminent loss of your driver’s license; or reinstatement, do not hesitate to contact the expert, experienced attorneys at Ervin Kibria Law today for a free consultation.
Give us a call and arrange a free consultation.
1629 K Street, NW Suite 300
Washington, DC 20006
Direct: (202) 689-4439
Fax: (866) 709-5280
1775 Tysons Blvd.
Tysons, VA 22102
Direct: (703) 962-7790
Fax: (866) 709-5280